MiHR’s governance structure reflects our industry.

From our board of directors to our program committees, representatives from Canadian mining employers and contractors form the largest membership of each group. In addition to employers, our board and/or standing committees may also include representatives from organized labour, education, associations and Indigenous groups.

Board of Directors

MiHR is governed by a 14-person board of directors that represent a cross-section of mining industry employers, organized labour, mining associations, equity groups, and educators from across Canada.

Dean Winsor


Senior Vice President and Chief Human

Resources Officer (CHRO)

Teck Resources

Keith Harris-Lowe


Senior Corporate Director, People

Agnico Eagle

Patricia Dillon

Past Chair

President and CEO

PDAC Mining Matters

Shanyn Bzowey

Director, Talent and HR

Suncor Energy

Viviane Ajub

Head of HR for Ontario Operations


Geoff Smith

Vice President, Government Relations

Mining Association of Canada

Jered Heigh

Talent Acquisition and Development Manager


Stephen Hunt

District Director

United Steelworkers District 3

Richard Paquin

National Representative


Karen Jonkman

National Representative


Brian Vaillancourt

Vice President, Business Development

College Boreal

Steve Ball

Mining Project Manager